Share a calendar

This article will show you how to share your calendar with other Essex users. 

When sharing your calendar you must configure the level of access you wish to give to each user.  The most commonly used levels of access are:

  • Editor - Full access to read and write to your calendar.
  • Reviewer - Read only access to your calendar.  Sometimes referred to as 'Full Details'.
  • Limited Details - A more restricted version of 'Reviewer'. Sometimes referred to as 'Free/Busy Time, subject and location' since it only exposes these event details.
  • Availability Only - Minimal read only access to see when events in the calendar mean you are free or busy.  All Essex users have this access by default since it's needed to efficiently schedule meetings.

Instructions for:

There are several ways of sharing your calendar from Outlook for Windows.  The steps below are the most reliable and are the ones recommended by IT Services. This guide was written for Outlook 2010 but should work with other versions of Outlook as well.

  1. Open Outlook, switch to the Calendar view, and then select Calendar Permissions.
  2. Click Add to open the address book.
  3. Select the person you want to allow access to your calendar before clicking OK.
  4. Set the desired Permissions Level from the drop down list and click OK to save the changes.

The person that you've just added can now follow the Open a calendar guide to gain access.

This guide was written for Outlook 2016 but should work with other versions of Outlook as well.

  1. Open Outlook, switch to the Calendar view, and then select Calendar Permissions.
  2. Click Add User..  to open the address book.
  3. Search the address book for the user you want to allow access to your calendar before clicking Add.
  4. Set the desired Permissions Level from the drop down list and click OK to save the changes.

The user that you've just added can now follow the Open a calendar guide to gain access.
 

  1. Go to https://email.essex.ac.uk and sign in with your Essex ID and password.
  2. Once you're signed in, click the blue square (top left), and switch to the Calendar view.
  3. Under My Calendars, right click on your own calendar and select Share Calendar.
  4. Start typing the name of the person you want to allow access into the Share with box and then click Search Directory before selecting them from the results returned.
  5. Set the desired Permissions Level from the drop down list and click Send to save the changes and send the user a link to access your calendar.
  6. The person you've added will receive an email telling them how to access the calendar.  If this doesn't work they can follow the Open a calendar guide to gain access.

Still need help?

Submit a support ticket →